Michael Jackson To Be The ‘New Face’ Of Pepsi?

Pic: michaeljacksonsightings.com

Michael Jackson may no longer be with us, but it seems that he is still working.

According to news.com.au, Jackson is going to revive his role as Pepsi ambassador and be the face of the brand yet again, as part of their “Live For Now” campaign.

“Pepsi’s chief creative officer, Brad Jakeman, said the broader “Live For Now” campaign was developed over the past 10 months and was intended to amplify the company’s longstanding ties with pop culture.”

“The US and China will be the first to get a taste of the campaign in coming weeks, timed to coincide with the 25th anniversary of Bad, the singer’s multiplatinum album. The campaign will spread to about two dozen countries by late this year.

In the US, the company is rolling out collectible 16-ounce blue cans that bear an image of Jackson striking one of his iconic poses. Consumers will be able to scan codes on the cans with their phones to download remixed tracks from Bad.

In the Chinese market, consumers will also see a TV ad featuring Jackson. Contests will also let consumers win tickets to a Michael Jackson-inspired show by Cirque du Soleil and leather jackets”

Jackson first partnered with Pepsi in 1983. Using the Billie Jean tune for the ad, the theme was ‘The Pepsi Generation’.

Trivia: the ‘young Michael Jackson’ is played by Alfonso Ribiero who played Carlton Banks in The Fresh Prince of Bel Air. I wonder if he will be a part of this new marketing campaign as well? ;)

Jackson went on to film another 2 ads for Pepsi. While filming an ad in 1984, which was to coincide with The Jackson 5′s Victory Tour, Jackson’s hair caught on fire. He suffered second and third degree burns to his face and scalp and was in extreme pain. It has been alleged that this is where Jackson’s addiction to pain medication began, which eventually contributed to his death.

Here is that incident, as well as the commercial in full:

What do you think of Pepsi using Michael Jackson in their new marketing campaign? Is this a genius idea or should MJ be left to rest in peace?

That’s Entertainment
Sarina

About The Bellissimo Files

My name's Sarina Bellissimo and I am a TV/Movie junkie. I can’t remember a time when I wasn't fascinated by all things Hollywood/showbiz. I blame my parents! As a child my mum used to force me to watch Elvis Presley films with her, and both my mum & dad would take my brothers and I to the Drive-In to watch the latest films (this is where my love for ROCKY began!). When not watching movies, I was trying to figure out ways to pull the back off the TV so I could somehow get into it and be a part of all the action on the screen! In 2007 I started as a regular contributor to We Love Movies. This means that I get to watch movies, talk about them and even interview some of my screen idols. I’ve interviewed the likes of Robert Pattinson, Ryan Reynolds, Daniel Craig, Uma Thurman, Colin Farrell, Cameron Diaz, and U2, to name but a few. One of my favourite interviews for We Love Movies was the one where I ended up sitting on Ashton Kutcher’s lap! Interviewing Sylvester Stallone would be a dream come true for me. I also appear regularly on Plan B to talk movies with Michelle Beatty as well as regularly contribute to Moncrieff’s Movies and Booze segment on Newstalk 106-108. I co-presented channel 6’s (now 3e) movie show Take Six and have appeared on Ireland AM's Movie & I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here segments. Twitter: @SBellissimo
This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

